//
you're reading...
National Service Survey

National Service Survey: A Closure

At this moment, I am thankful and grateful; thankful for how the National Service Survey has evolved and gained some traction (even though the survey itself was not designed in the most professional manner), and grateful for all the support, encouragement and responses. All the perspectives I have read, and all the exchanges I have had; all these opinions – especially those that have challenged my postulations – have not only sharpened my personal viewpoints, but also made me more sensitive to the assortment of views from different individuals. Your support has been amazing. Thank you.

My work, I feel, does not stop here. When the dust has settled, I hope I still have the credibility and ability to generate more discussions about National Service in Singapore, or to even involve myself voluntarily to hear and process diverse sentiments (and consequently, contemplate further recommendations for consideration). At the present moment, I’m just going to take some time to take everything in, and to process everything that has happened over the past few days and weeks.

National Service is something that resonates with all Singaporean men (unsurprisingly, everyone has a story to share), and I am unashamed to proclaim that I have served my country with tremendous pride. Nothing stops us from articulating arguments in a cogent and constructive manner, but the issue of whether online platforms are the best place to do so remains largely subjective. All the decisions I have made have been the result of personal deliberation after I had read through the post, comments, and opinions expressed; in no way was I forced or coerced. Still, many of my posts can be accessed (here), and should you have any further feedback or ideas, please feel free to drop me an email at jinyao.guan.yin.miao[a]gmail.com. It is always easier to comment than to enact real change, but I hope that – some time in the near future – I would have the capability to do much, much more.

About guanyinmiao

A man of knowledge lives by acting, not by thinking about acting. Carlos Castaneda.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Follow guanyinmiao's musings on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,211 other followers

Twitter

