//
you're reading...
Life's Musings

On Hiatus (I Need A Break)

I need a break.

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I –
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken

guanyinmiao’s musings needs a break. I have been writing consistently for around two years already (except during the “A” Level Examinations and when I was undergoing military training), and I think it would be a good time to evaluate what I have accomplished independently, and rethink my writing priorities. Empowered by my personal abilities, I have always sought to pen perspectives objectively and constructively to make Singapore – our Singapore – a better and brighter place for our citizens. I have really tried my best to be receptive to varying opinions and viewpoints; and throughout these phases of exploration my experiences with REACH, the MOE and the various print forums have reaffirmed my faith in positive change-making.

Change might be a scary prospect, but if we listened more and comprehended deeper – on intentions, purposes and objectives – then we will see beyond the rigidities of the status quo, and know that not all proposals and recommendations are malicious. We truly care, so we stand up for what we believe in. I acknowledge my ignorance and mistake, but what has happened over the past few days – and how events have developed – makes me wonder if what I am presently doing is truly worthwhile.

If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;

Rudyard Kipling, “If

Kwan Jin Yao needs a break. At the present moment, I just feel really drained, confused and disheartened. I will definitely be back, because I know that the present impediments and challenges will not last; but till the end of the year I suppose I need a breather from all that has happened.

On a side note, I will be running the inaugural United Nations Association of Singapore (UNAS) Model United Nations (MUN) Preparatory Conference later this year. For more information, do check out http://www.unas-mun.sg/.

About guanyinmiao

A man of knowledge lives by acting, not by thinking about acting. Carlos Castaneda.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow guanyinmiao's musings on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,210 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

